GRANT Program Provides Funding to 41 Counties in Kentucky

The Kentucky General Assembly recently passed House Bill 9 to provide economic relief to communities in Kentucky. The bill creates the Government Resources Accelerating Needed Transportation (GRANT) program, which aims to provide support and grant funding to 41 counties in western and eastern Kentucky.

The bill provides the Cabinet for Economic Development $2 million to create a grant matching program that will provide funds to local communities to use as matching funds for larger federal grants. These funds can be used to complete projects aimed at improving local infrastructure, including water, wastewater, and stormwater systems.

Commonwealth Engineers can assist your community with utilizing the available funding to improve public infrastructure. For more information on whether your community is eligible and how to secure available funding, contact Timothy Gilliam, Business Development Manager.

The following counties are eligible for GRANT funding:

East Kentucky: Bell, Breathitt, Carter, Clay, Elliott, Floyd, Harlan, Jackson, Johnson, Knott, Lawrence, Lee, Leslie, Letcher, Magoffin, Martin, Morgan, Owsley, Perry, Pike, and Wolfe.

West Kentucky: Ballard, Breckinridge, Caldwell, Calloway, Carlisle, Crittenden, Fulton, Graves, Grayson, Hickman, Hopkins, Livingston, Lyon, Marshall, McCracken, Muhlenberg, Ohio, Todd, Union, and Webster.